You look like a lady….

Adonis and Phoenix, 2006, Ruadhán J McElroy

Adonis and Phoenix, 2006, Ruadhán J McElroy

Ptolemy Hephaestion, New History Book 5 (summary from Photius, Myriobiblon 190) :
“Adonis, having become androgynous, behaved as a man for Aphrodite and as a woman for Apollon.”

My head is bad(?) my mind’s all through
Ain’t been so stoned since i was new
The streets are cold the people are too
Ah but you look like a lady, let me sing my songs to you

can’t find a place to lay me down
can’t find a face without a frown
can’t find a hand i can hold to
ah but you look like a lady, let me sing my songs to you

there is no love that i can find
there are no friends to share my wine
tomorrow’s dead and yesterday too
but you look like a lady let me sing my songs to you

if i could live my life again
a yellow bird i would have been
flying high and flying true
ah but you look like a lady let me sing my songs to you

Leave a Reply

