30 Days of Devotion: 8 ~ Variations on Eros

This has been one of the harder ones for me to answer, because while I know this can include “aspects” –and that can include the way that Waitress and Mother are both aspects of the character Christie on the sit-com Mom— I’ve clearly had people misunderstand what this blog is about and what I believe, and there is little that bothers me more than being misunderstood, having my words and ideas taken out of context, and twisted into something I nevef meant nor intended. This is something that has bothered me since I was a child, and I’ve actually gotten better about it in recent years (yes, I have –if you think I’ve been nasty to Halstead and others for twisting my words around in the last four or five years, trust me, you wouldn’t’ve known what to make of me when I was sixteen, twenty, twenty-four…).

No, I don’t believe that Cupid or Amor are Rome’s local forms of Eros. I don’t believe that Aegnus Og is the Irish form of Eros. And so on. I believe that they have common grounds, but these are as much the same deity as my humanoid meat-based housemate and I are the same person on the grounds that we split the rent.

I also have a very hard time accepting the notion of the putto, the “chubby winged baby”, as a valid form of Eros on anything more than historical grounds. I get that this became a dominant “form of Eros” later in antiquity, but it’s not one that I relate to at all, and is one I have never known.

  1. A basic introduction of Eros
  2. How did I become first aware of Eros?
  3. Symbols and icons of Eros
  4. A favorite myth or myths of Eros
  5. Members of the family – genealogical connections
  6. Other related deities and entities associated with Eros
  7. Names and epithets
  8. Variations on Eros
  9. Common mistakes about this deity
  10. Offerings – historical and UPG
  11. Festivals, days, and times sacred to this deity
  12. Places associated with this deity and their worship
  13. What modern cultural issues are closest to this deity’s heart?
  14. Has worship of this deity changed in modern times?
  15. Any mundane practices that are associated with this deity?
  16. How do you think this deity represents the values of their pantheon and cultural origins?
  17. How does this deity relate to other gods and other pantheons?
  18. How does this deity stand in terms of gender and sexuality? (historical and/or UPG)
  19. What quality or qualities of this god do you most admire? What quality or qualities of them do you find the most troubling?
  20. Art that reminds you of this deity
  21. Music that makes you think of this deity
  22. A quote, a poem, or piece of writing that you think this deity resonates strongly with
  23. Your own composition – a piece of writing about or for this deity
  24. A time when this deity has helped you
  25. A time when this deity has refused to help
  26. How has your relationship with this deity changed over time?
  27. Worst misconception about this deity that you have encountered
  28. Something you wish you knew about this deity but don’t currently
  29. Any interesting or unusual UPG to share?
  30. Any suggestions for others just starting to learn about this deity?
Leave a Reply

