On the Pagan Blogging Project

Well, less than twelve weeks to go, and it seems i’m one of less than forty people left doing it. Let us go back to the beginning of the year?

The very first week? Nearly 250 bloggers participating. But by the end of January, barely more than 175, and by the end of March, there were already less than 100 pagans and polytheists participating.

Have thre been some weeks that picked back up since? sure, but on average, even for the first half of 2013, the PBP seemed to barely pull out an average of 135 weekly participants. And by the end of 2012, there were just over twenty people still doing it.

Sure, sure, some people have a life outside the Internet, but here’s the thing about blogging: It’s not for everyone. It really isn’t.

If you don’t have enough to say to warrant, on average, at least one weekly post, barest minimum, then you probably shouldn’t be blogging. Blogging, as a rule, is for people who have more to say than a forum or e-list could reasonably contain. Yeah, in some way Tumblr blurrs the lines between “blog” and “social forum”, and so did LiveJournal in its heyday, but it’s hardly the ideal medium for intense blogging.

If the PBP has taught me anything about myself and my blogging, it’s certainly taught me that I’m not simply blogging because I think I “should be” blogging to make a contribution to my communities, but that I have enough to say to justify my blogging for and about my communities. And that’s really what most blogs, especially those by pagans turn out to be –just another half-start from people who think they “should” do it because they can’t think of how else to really make any impact on a community they want recognition from. Are there some exceptions? Absolutely; if you’ve got a disability condition that might prevent you from blogging on a regular schedule, then the value of your blog clearly rests on content alone –but most people just don’t have as much to say as they think that they should, and every day, literally dozens of new pagan blogs get started and at best, one of those new daily blogs will have any impact on its local and regional communities, and even fewer attract the attentions of the national or even international pagan communities.

I often make self-depricating jokes about how few people read this, often addressing my readers as “both of you” or “all two or three of you”, but I know my stats are pretty healthy, and that this blog reaches an international readership. I am truly blessed by Hermes, among others, with a knack for words and writing, and its truly wonderful to feel like this makes people think about their gods, even if not Eros in particular. I’m sure some people only started reading only after they saw my participation on the PBP13, or after hearing me hyperventilate on Wyrd Ways, but that’s good, too.

On a mostly unrelated note, I now have an Eros Resources page started up. I’m probably going to continue adding to it over the next few weeks, as I update the calendar in time for the New Year, so check back often. 🙂

2 thoughts on “On the Pagan Blogging Project

  1. The odd part is that I find it much easier to write for others than I do for myself. Give me a schedule and a place where if I miss my deadline I inconvenience others and I’ll nail it every time. Leave me to my own devices on my own blog, and I’d much rather be programming. It’s a shame, too, because I find that writing has always helped me think through difficult questions and ponder my way toward mystery, but I find myself disheartened as long-form blogging doesn’t usually elicit a lot of discussion from readers. It’s that discussion that I usually seek.

    I started the blog project but also quickly realized that I had very little to talk about for some letters. I could probably have made stuff up, but outside of a few specific letters (D and E come to mind) I didn’t really have anything to say. What I want to try next year, assuming the project continues or maybe if it doesn’t, is to sit with the alphabet in advance to make a plan rather than constantly waiting until Thursday night and trying to come up with something.

    Like

  2. This. This is how I feel, and this is the exact reason I *don’t* have a blog, or, really, any online presence. I get the urge to write, from time to time (I’m currently writing a tragedy that I *hope* to present at the HRF next year), but I don’t have anything to write/say on a regular basis. I’m more of an “in-person” type….

    Like

Leave a Reply

