[PBP2013] Tasseomancy

Cup reading generally evolved almost simultaneously in Asia, Greece, and. Ethiopia, each reason utilising tea, wine sediment, and coffee, respectively. This method of divination is generally the same with each beverage –leave a tablespoon or so of liquid in the bottom of the drinking vessel, swirl it around, turn the vessel upside down onto a plate or saucer, wait a minute and then read the inside of the cup, paying attention for any symbols that might be important.

I’m going to be blunt, I rarely see much in the way of complete symbols, the way a lot of the books say it works. Now, I have been reading tea and coffee since I was about fifteen, and at some point, I learned it’s easier for me, and gives me more success as a reader, to sort of “Magic Eye” it. If you remember those Magic Eye posters from the 1990s, well, I never got them to work, but most people seemed to believe that the best way to get to see the hidden 3D picture was to lose focus for a moment and sort of look away or through it. That’s really the best way I can describe the way I’ve learned to look at my coffee.

On rare occasion, I see some pretty clear pictures. When that happens, the literal content of the picture is less important than the symbolism and what these things mean, even when I’m giving a more common reading. When I give readings to others, I do explain this, and since it’s from something they drank from, I do believe that their energy is deposited into the vessel, and I’m reading that as much as I’m reading the leaves, grounds, or sediment itself.

Leave a Reply

