[PBP2013] Iris

http://backend.deviantart.com/embed/view.swf?1
Rainbow Ringlets by *wisely-chosen on deviantART

Iris: Why would I choose a mere male god or daimone as my lover?
Hermes: I suppose more the question is, why not? There are enough goddesses going parthenos, as it is!
Iris: You misunderstand that word. I exist in-between, as do you –with my mother in the clouds, and my father in the sea. Think of all the other goddesses parthenos who came before I: Hestia, quite sweet and matronly. Artemis, quite feral. Mortals fancy Athene as little more than a man with breasts. Even Hera adopts that title, when it suits her, and mortals can hardly begin to understand why.
Hermes: So then what am i missing, colleague?
Iris: The title has little to do with lacking sexual gnosis, and only relates to “virginity” inasmuch as one defines the, shall we say “wedding feast”. To be parthenos is to not be owned. And anyway, women are far more to my preferences.

Leave a Reply

