I Believe

I believe that there are multiple deities, each Their own personage with autonomy from each Other, and agency in the world.
I believe the mythology of Hellas has the finest poetic understanding of the origin of the universe.
I believe in pluralism; the idea of One (Monism) seems patently absurd to me in this day and age, when we know not only that over a hundred living species can share a single common ancestor, but that the universe is literally expanding, moving away from a state of One, further and further every day.
I believe that the Gods of Hellas are deathless, that they were here long before us, and will be here long after our species hops on our own rocketsled to Extinction.
I believe that the Theoi are “perfect”, in terms of metaphysiology, but by human standards of “perfect behaviour”, They may not seem so, but that this is our problem, not Theirs.
I believe that of the thousands of deities out there, that of the tribal pantheon I’ve been called to (as well as those that I have not), the strongest in the human realm are Eros and Eris; overall Nyx and the Moirai are probably the most forceful.
I believe that the mythological apotheosis of Psykhe is an allegory for explaining Her status as Moirai. I have the shared gnosis of others to justify this.
I believe that the presence of atheists / humanists / naturalists in the “pagan community” is evidence that “paganism” is not a religious movement and hasn’t been for some time.
I believe that devotional rit is the best and easiest way to maintain a relationship with the gods.
I believe that spirits inhabit every forest and glen and body of water and mountain and valley and paved road and subway tunnel and nook and cranny of the world; building cities does not and physically cannot make them go away. Anyone who believes otherwise has never truly interacted with spirits.
I believe that the Liberal / Conservative dichotomy is inherently false. Most people generally maintain some measure of ideals from each category, and the inherently progressive nature of humanity means some ideas considered “dangerously liberal” at the time of the Industrial Revolution are now often seen as “destructively conservative”. Tradition, religion, and so on… These things just ARE.
I believe that the arts brings us closer to the Gods.
I believe that pleasure and happiness bring us closer to the Gods.
I believe that the nature of pleasure, for humans, is fleeting and that the most logical course is to take in pleasures as they come to oneself.
I believe that music is inherently magical; some people can make their instrument laugh, or cry, or sing out –others, even if using the exact same instruments, just play notes. Consider the differences between Carlos Santana and Yngwie Malmsteen.

8 thoughts on “I Believe

  1. You’re a dirty fundamentalist (and I am too) 😛

    “I believe that the presence of atheists / humanists / naturalists in the “pagan community” is evidence that “paganism” is not a religious movement and hasn’t been for some time.”

    This. This so hard.

    Like

    • Even orthopraxic religions imply belief –but what makes a religion orthopraxic is that the finer points of belief are not policed by a central body (as with Roman Catholics), and that practise is what unites people of that religion.

      And I’ve made peace with the fact that the basic definition of fundamental is not a dirty word, even if xian literalists have given it dirty implications. Yes, I believe that some fundamental basics are what makes something religious, and lacking that makes it something else. If that makes me a fundamentalist, oh well, at least I’ll be in good company. 😀

      Like

  2. You’re a dirty fundamentalist (and I am too) 😛

    “I believe that the presence of atheists / humanists / naturalists in the “pagan community” is evidence that “paganism” is not a religious movement and hasn’t been for some time.”

    This. This so hard.

    Like

    • Even orthopraxic religions imply belief –but what makes a religion orthopraxic is that the finer points of belief are not policed by a central body (as with Roman Catholics), and that practise is what unites people of that religion.

      And I’ve made peace with the fact that the basic definition of fundamental is not a dirty word, even if xian literalists have given it dirty implications. Yes, I believe that some fundamental basics are what makes something religious, and lacking that makes it something else. If that makes me a fundamentalist, oh well, at least I’ll be in good company. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

