This looks Interesting: Psyche Rock Opera

http://www.indiegogo.com/project/295297/widget

There are some things in the description on the crowdfunding page and website that I can quibble with, mythologically speaking (Aphrodite as Eros’ mother AND lover? Er… And really, do I have to spell out for hard polytheists [who I’m assuming is the majority of my readers here] the folly of Joseph Campbell’s allegedly “universal” myth archetypes, and how this can sorely limit the impact and meaning of the story itself —while I can see the Psykhe mythos as fulfilling some, possibly even many aspects of the Hero’s Journey, to force Her tale into that mould tends to miss some marks of varying importance), but this looks like it’s bound to be a better effort than the Xanadu stage musical (which actually fails its Hellenic mythology WAY more than the original film, which actually recognises the Moisai as being born on Mt, Helikon, not Olympos, for starters)

Judging my the text on both sites, I’m assuming the sample music in this pitch video is just a rough cut of the music in the opera. I really don’t like the main female voice I’m hearing throughout this —she’s kinda “tinny” and strained, which reminds me of Sarah Brightman, and not in a good way1. On the other hand, I do like everything else I’m hearing, so I hope this sample isn’t reflective of the casting choices.

If I had any money, I’d probably donate a little, but if you think this is worthy of your delicious monies, feel free to give a little to their project.


1: As a classically trained singer, myself, I really dislike Brightman’s voice —and as some-one with a background, and even family background in opera, Brightman is the last choice for any director to put in something operatic. If you can’t project your voice with your own physical talents, and not a microphone, you are NOT an operatic singer. But then again, she mainly has the career she does cos ALW has been boning her for years, and everybody deserving of the very much earned title of Theatre Geek knows it. That said, I have a couple of Brightman’s pop records, cos she’s really just a pop singer and so that’s where she excells.

5 thoughts on “This looks Interesting: Psyche Rock Opera

    • Hello, Ms Shapiro!

      I apologise for the delay in getting back to you, but it’s been a stressful week at my house, including having to put down a beloved cat due to cancer in her gums. 😦

      I am interested in a chat, possibly even an interview podcast for my blog (I was the music editor for a small magazine that folded after a couple issues, due to lack of advertising, and have been interested in doing that sort of thing again). Should I use the e-mail on your website to arrange that?

      Thanks for stopping by to comment. 🙂

      Like

    • Hello, Ms Shapiro!

      I apologise for the delay in getting back to you, but it’s been a stressful week at my house, including having to put down a beloved cat due to cancer in her gums. 😦

      I am interested in a chat, possibly even an interview podcast for my blog (I was the music editor for a small magazine that folded after a couple issues, due to lack of advertising, and have been interested in doing that sort of thing again). Should I use the e-mail on your website to arrange that?

      Thanks for stopping by to comment. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

