New Boeotian Calendar Update

An idea I’ve been tossing around in my head lately, and most recently to a couple of friends (but mostly to Kayleigh, from KALLISTI), is the idea of making a printed version of the calendar.

To put it bluntly, I was actually really surprised by the amount of positive response to the PDF, and according to my site stats and what-nots, people are still downloading it, even if the comments have stopped. I really didn’t expect this. I figured, at best, in maybe five years’ time it would stop getting downloads for novelty; I didn’t expect people claiming they’d start using it within the first week of posting the PDF.

Now because I really hate doing things half-assed (which is probably why it took me six years to finish my first novel — but that’s another story for another time), I’m figuring, at the absolute soonest, I’d be able to have a printed calendar ready for Gregorian Year 2012. This is at the absolute soonest, cos what I’m going to want to do is include high-quality photographs to go along with each month, which will make for a time-consuming effort, and probably take the better part of a year just to compile.

I’m probably going to go with Zazzle or Lulu to create the calendar, unless somebody else can suggest a better print-on-demand calendar service. The downside to this is that the base prices from each service are kind of expensive, though Lulu is notably cheaper, and I’d really like to keep this under $20 for people.

So, since I’m pretty much making this with the community in mind, does anybody have any ideas for images they’d like to see that I can easily produce. Keep in mind that, as much as I would love to, I cannot afford to travel to Hellas to take photos for this project — I’d love to, but I can’t, maybe if somebody offers to be my sugar daddy (or sugar momma, I suppose, just so long as I’m not expected to get down with the lady-bits) for a couple weeks, but as of now, any photos of Boeotia will have to come from iStockPhoto.com, and I’m finding nothing in a keyword search for Boeotia and variant spellings, (though much thanks to Sannion and Kate Winter for first telling me about that site), or other stock sources. I’m hoping to get more painting done this year, shrine and ritual photos are already in mind. I’d also really love to perhaps get some photos taken down by the Classic Revival park shelter here in Ann Arbor, but I lack local friends I can wrangle in as models, and I lack the money to hire a couple models for this project (though if anybody wants to come visit, I can put you up for a week at a time).

Leave a Reply

