Kybele & Pan worship in Boeotia

I don’t remember which Hellenic Polytheism list I saw this on, but I recall somebody relatively recently (within the last couple of months or so) saying something about Kybele and Pan being worshiped side-by-side in certain regions of Boeotia. I seem to recall reading that in some book, as well, but owning comparatively few books, I can’t just quick look that up right now.

I’ve found limited info in googling some books, Cybele, Attis and Related Cults by Maarten Jozef Vermaseren & Eugene Lane mentions this in Theban cultus, specifically.

Does anybody reading this perhaps know where else I can confirm this?

5 thoughts on “Kybele & Pan worship in Boeotia

  1. I found a reference to this in one of Pindar’s Odes (#3):

    But I wish to make my prayer
    to the sacred Mother Goddess
    whom Theban maidens celebrate
    all the night through,
    singing of her and of Pan
    not far from where I dwell.
    If, Hieron, you understand,
    recall the proverb now:
    the deathless gods
    dole out to death-bound men
    two pains for every good.
    Fools make nothing of either.
    The noble turn both to advantage,
    folding pain within,
    and showing beauty without.

    These words are about 2/3 of the way down the page on this site: http://216.71.135.198/HW/pindar.html

    Like

    • Duh! That’s a pretty basic one.

      I don’t know what’s with my brain-farting, lately.

      But yes, again with Thebes. Been googling some books and apparently Thebes and Thespiae were allied at one point, and for a long time, but then that alliance dissolved and the cities wanted nothing to do with each-other.

      Like

    • Too true. I’d only previously known of the later adversarial relationship between Thespiae and Thebes, but I’ve been getting that little urgence in my brain again, telling me to push ahead with reconstructing/reviving the Thespian religion — or at least piecing together an interpretation that makes the most sense. I’ve become very attached to that old city. If my old friend who read my palms a few years ago was right, and I end up emigrating by my late-thirties, I’ve considered that area. Or Belfast (where my family is from).

      Like

  2. Pingback: It was meant to be | Of Thespiae

Leave a Reply

